When the gloves are off

Sometimes you have to take the rough with the smooth.

You know when you read something and you want to tell the world about it and when you do it's a bit disappointing because half the world has read it anyway and you wish you hadn't said anything. I'm feeling like that about Cormac McCarthy's No Country For Old Men. It was one of those books where I'd seen the film of the book and thought there's no point reading the book because I know the story. But I read The Road after seeing the film and just enjoyed wallowing in the writing. No Country was better still and, while the film was excellent, the book, the writing and the way he captures how people speak to each other, well I've never read anything better.

I've come back to write something on this blip because it almost didn't happen. I was tired, tired of blipping every day and this was a day I just didn't feel inspired. I'd worked hard in the garden, the sky was overcast, I hadn't been anywhere, hadn't done much, or at least not much in a professional, might earn some money, sense. I'd photographed the gloves before but thought I'd try them again because they're old and worn in to a certain shape (like me). The pear was an afterthought and I liked it but didn't know why. I guess that's the way with pictures. We get something we like and we don't know why. Maybe it was that rough-smooth thing. But, who cares? In blipping we do something, maybe learn something, maybe not, and move on. I've eaten the pear. I'm glad others have found something to like in the image too. Japanese boats! Cool!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.