misswinterfinch

By misswinterfinch

A moment frozen in time

As I sat propped up in bed early this morning, sipping coffee and munching on lovely, newly baked bread (...Oh, yes, some of us DO live like this, my dears. We are referred to as "retired"...), I gazed out of the windows at the fresh snow. It had fallen wet and heavily during the night and coated every twig, branch, pine needle, and blade of grass.
'Such a lovely sight and worthy of a blip,' I thought. I wished someone would get dressed and go out there with her camera.
Oh! that meant me-- the loyal blipper.
So, with the two adventurous cats following, I trudged out. shoveled snow off the driveway a bit, then began taking pictures of all my favourite scenes frosted white.
And now I am faced with blipping-overload. You know how it is when you get way too many good snaps and can only post one?
Well, this one I choose because I thought it would interest you most not because it is especially beautiful. The house here on Alice Street. across the side from my property, is empty now until April. The owners are living in warm Florida for the winter. Before they left they covered the yew bushes and other evergreens with nylon webbing to keep the deer from nibbling on them. The snow has highlighted all the netting as if it is a wedding veil.
After about half an hour taking pictures I was chilled properly and returned to the relaxing breakfast. Within an hour all the snow had melted. The magical wonderland had returned to normally bare trees and branches.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.