Dancersend

By Dancersend

Captured Roe Deer

Two young Roe deer have been sharing a grazing compartment at the nature reserve with our flock of Beulah sheep for the last five or six weeks. I think they got in there with their mother when the gates were open, before we moved the sheep in. Mum has long since jumped out but the youngsters don't seem to have the confidence to jump the fence. They seem perfectly happy with the grazing and the cover provided by some blocks of scrub.

You would think that, contained like this, they would be easier to photograph, but they are always very alert and a number of attempts to get near with my camera have seen them bounding off to the far side of the fenced area. This was the best I could do today, with my camera hand-held at its furthest zoom position. I will keep trying and maybe get a cleaner shot eventually.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.