Treasures

Whilst at the library today I picked up a free copy of Treasures, courtesy of Scottish Book Trust. In it there are contributions from various writers.

My blip today is some of my treasures lovingly written and drawn by our three when they were young. We have old biscuit tins full of these little notes, cards , drawings and diaries. I could never part with them.

Needless to say I have started another box with all the things Euan and Eve are now giving us!

In this copy of Treasures is a poem by Marion Jean Byers called Daddy's Bunnet.

Here are a few verses:

Daddy always wore a bunnet
Before going out his front door
Hands automatically reached for his bunnet,
Folded in his pocket.

In the early days of grief
Often I fondled that cap,
Pressed my nose-deep inside, inhaling his fragrance ,
Instantly invoking his presence,
Bittersweet tears.

I'm 64 now -
Even the briefest thought of his bunnet
Moves my soul, stirs my heart,
Melts me away-
In a lifetime of love.



So , so true. I can identify with this .

PS I'm not 64....... :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.