Kitchen

Yesterday, David represented the school along with a few other kids from his weekly skiing class in a skiing competition. His group came third out of ten schools. David was also fastest in his own group.

Well done, pal!

On the way home today, I met Ollie in the shop. He was a couple years below me at school. He recognised me. Said hello. We got to talking and he mentioned a really good pal of mine from back then died two weeks ago; James Greene. We went on many silly exploits together, smoking fags, trying to make our first joints, playing guitar, loving Hendrix. I was just thinking about him last week. He was a lovely guy. He apparently took his own life. I knew he had that side to him. I recognised it. He compensated and hid it really well with just being one of the nicest most outgoing genuine generous guys you could hope to meet.

Although I think the last time I saw you was about 1996, I will miss you. You know, when you don't see people for years but you kinda know you'll see them again some time it's cool. When the finality of death kicks in, you feel the loss.

Why didn't I bother more? These are the words of a half-arsed cunt. As long as one realises that, then you're OK. You can't brood on missed opportunities if you had no intention of creating them.

RIP James, this life was a struggle, but I know you'll have finally found that rest you couldn't achieve in the here and now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.