Enjoying the View

A few years ago, I checked a number of walks for a publication called Walking South Yorkshire. Today, we did that walk for the first time since then. Rob, the author had made a few changes based on my suggestions, but at its heart, the walk remained essentially the same. It's a great walk with some fantastic views, and even though it was a dull day, it was most enjoyable. I decided to travel relatively light by my standards, so I took my kit lens along but had my medium sized telephoto mounted ready for any wildlife that might be around. As we reached the trig point at the top of the walk, I changed to my kit lens in anticipation of the fine views that lay ahead up the Ewden Valley. This spot is just on the boundary of the part of the Peak District that lies in South Yorkshire - not all of it is in Derbyshire. At that precise moment, 12 crossbills flew into a tree just out of shot here. Typical! At least they weren't the very rare two-barred crossbills that have been seen for the last couple of months in the area.
You can see some heather burning going on in the distance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.