Scribbler

By scribbler

3 treasures + a selfie

Laptop screen used as a mirror, with enlarged blip comment.

Something I treasure is today's DDW-Mollymay challenge topic.


1. My laptop, latest in a line of well-loved Macintosh computers owned since 1985.

2. My iPhone 4S, which has been my only camera, and which I acquired for that purpose.

3. Blippers!

This morning a new blipfriend, iwalkiseeiphone (whose terrific photos and antic sense of humor have been delighting me), left me a comment response that made me feel I'd finally made the grade, even as a lowly iPhone photographer. I couldn't stop grinning.

My 'About' page describes me as writer-poet-artist / photographer? not so sure! / my camera is an iPhone.
iwalkiseeiphone - whose 'About' page says For now, I'll be using an iPhone (can you be taken seriously with an iPhone?) - commented:

"I like your bio. You said it all.

Except I AM sure ---- you are a photographer. No doubt. I've seen many with very expensive cameras who you put to shame."


Wow. I'm beyond thrilled!

So here is that comment on my MacBook screen, shot with my iPhone (which also appears in the image), plus the smile it produced.

-------------------------

TECHNICAL NOTES

This photo was very challenging on a number of fronts.
1. I had to take it with my left hand, and I'm right-handed, and a bit shaky to boot.
2. I lowered the screen lighting down to the lowest setting in order to have a dark "mirror" for the self-portrait, but this reduced the contrast between the white letters and their grey background.
3. The phone camera doesn't do well in dim light. I hear the iPhone 5S is better, but I'm not ready to trade up.
4. I had two photos, rather similar, and worked quite a bit on one of them in my phone because it was the better of the two. This is not that one because for some reason my wifi wouldn't transfer it to my laptop - a mysterious bug I have no intention of pursuing.

I experimented with lots of iPhoto settings, but this fuzzy, grainy image is the best I could do with what I had to work with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.