Old 1229

I took a nice walk around the Stewart Park loop in Roseburg today, and passed this icon. I remember playing on this thing 55 years ago, and it's still here, and in the same place. Today as I pass it, all I hear is one of my favorite Grateful Dead tunes, "I Know You Rider". It was penned by Robert Hunter and sung so beautifully over the years by Jerry Garcia:

I wish I was a headlight on a northbound train,
I wish I was a headlight on a northbound train.
I'd shine my light through the cool Colorado rain.


The chorus of the song seems somehow applicable now too:

I know you, Rider, gonna miss me when I'm gone,
I know you, Rider, gonna miss me when I'm gone,
Gonna miss your baby from rolling in your arms.


When all else fails, a Grateful Dead lyric will see you through.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.