The Mole Photographer

By cherylgabriel

A PAIR OF POCHRDS - (THEY ARE NOT!)

I posted this thinking they were Pochards and was corrected by fellow Blipper PeninsulaLight who informed me that - silly me - they are in fact Teal.
Well I've learnt something today and I'm grateful for the tip off.
Maybe the 'handy bird guide' needs amending too...!

original text:
OK so not the best shot I've ever taken of ducks - but these are no ordinary ducks.
I was so excited when I zoomed in on my camera screen, to see that these were not my beloved Mallards, but (upon referring to the 'handy bird guide' at our reserve), discovered that the fine burgundy heads belong to the Pochard duck.

What I do know is that they are extremely shy and I had to use a long lens to get even this.
I'll be trying to get closer now I know they're there.
But - for how much longer?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.