HClaireB

By HClaireB

The Fallen

This is the war memorial at the junction of Kensington High Street and Kensington Church Street. I liked the way that the fallen leaves mingled with the wreaths for the fallen soldiers.

The church in the background is St Mary Abbots, built in 1872 by the architect Sir George Gilbert Scott in neo-Gothic Early English style, and has the tallest spire in London!

I nearly blipped “Big Biba” behind me on the other side of the road, the old Derry & Toms building. Some of you may remember the Aladdin’s cave that was the ladies department. My prize possession was a pair of white, shiny plastic, pull on, knee-high boots. When I wore them with a mini-skirt, I imagined I looked like Mary Quant! You can still buy them on eBay or hire them for fancy dress parties – I wonder where mine went?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.