A cacophany of robins

I spent most of the morning at my desk, sorting out a variety of unfinished business, including making calls and answering the phone. It was one of those days when after a long call you put the phone down and immediately it starts ringing without a break. In fact it meant I caught up with several old friends as well as made appointments to meet up. One of the appointments was to meet the architect at the council offices where we are contemplating creating a new window in a brick wall at the side of the building to allow the staff more light and ventilation in their reception area.

Before I set off to that meeting with Nick, H, I decided to make use of a few spare minutes and to go out to the back garden where the sun was shining to see if I could film any birds at the feeders I cleaned out a couple of days ago. I stood inside the open door of the cabin overlooking the patio, trying to not appear obvious. A couple of tits did make an appearance, and I saw some goldfinches a bit farther away. But the predominant birds were the robins whose vocal trysting was at a very high level. I guess that they are establishing territory with their voices as well as their presence on the ground and in various branches of hedges and shrubs. They seemed to be chasing each other round and round between the various gardens as well as regularly retreating to high vantage points for further singing.

I went out to sit on the garden table on the patio and craned to find where the robin above the cabin was. At last I spotted him far back in the branches and managed to grab this picture mid-song.

Edit:
A day later and there are less than half the leaves left after the stormy winds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.