Forest

Having got the heads up there were two, Two-barred Crossbills in the Forest of Dean today and knowing that they are so very rare, I decided to take a walk to chance my luck on finding them.

It was going to be tough as the forest has an acreage of 42sq miles. Armed with the sat nav I got vaguely to the area and set off through the larch plantations. Even though they are small but extremely colourful, I knew it was going to be dodgy - the trees were so very tall and my lens really wasn't going to, 'cut the mustard'. Suffice it to say there was not a glimpse not only of those but of anything! Did spy a redstart with a group of Chaffinches in the trees, which were so tall I'd no idea what I'd taken a photograph of!

The light was streaming through the tree trunks onto the forest floor and looked amazing. What a lovely area!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.