Carousel of progress...

I was in town today for a meeting and thought I'd walk home through the Edinburgh Christmas celebrations. It was relatively early so the evening revellers hadn't yet arrived and I took the opportunity to blip an empty carousel.

I haven't been on a carousel in years! They remind me of another age, a time where children were filled with wonder by the sight of them.

Those of you who recognise the title will know it refers to a ride in Disney World. It was one of Walt's favourites. "Steeped in both nostalgia and futurism, the attraction's premise is an exploration of the joys of living through the advent of electricity and other technological advances during the 20th century via a "typical" American family."

Seems to me though that some of those advancements have taken away the beautiful wonderments of a carousel. Perhaps that's just me being maudlin though!

My carousel of progress refers to the other part of my blip. I went to running club tonight. I ran 5.5 miles in a pyramid session. This is significant because of my 2013 running mileage. I intentionally stopped at this point.

Shhh don't mention it, in case you jinx it...but I'm almost there...

Today's run: 5.5 miles
December running mileage: 18.5 miles
2013 running mileage: 998.5 miles

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.