MsQuizzical

By MsQuizzical

Squirrel In Stag Tree - Pareidolia Again :)

I was reading last night about wildlife poet John Clare's stay in a private mental asylum in High Beach, the only hamlet actually in  Epping Forest. The forest served as nature therapy for him but not a Nature Cure. He did not have a woman lift him out of his depression like Richard Mabey did.

I went to check the place out. It's high and strangely, very like a beach. The soil is fine and sandy and reeds grow in the clearings. I got chatting to some locals and now know the location of the asylum but that's for another day as the light was fading. It was gorgeous in the forest, I had this part of it to myself, apart from a trio of frolicking squirrels. I was tracking them by sound as I could hear the dead leaves they were kicking up rustling. Squirrels are not my favourite animals, I would have preferred deer. I wasn't disappointed. ;)    

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.