Blue Hamish

By BlueHamish

It's all for Charity Mate!

For the past 2 years, I have organised a watch pass around ro raise money for Macmillan Cancer Support and this year, I am just about to launch my third such event. The watches in the picture are the watches for the next pass around.

What is a pass around I hear you ask?

Basically, I buy 4 watches with a total value of anywhere between £500 - £600. People then pay a fee (£45 this year but was previously £40). Their fees are used to cover the cost of the watches and all money over and above the costs is donated to Macmillan. Together, the last two pass arounds raised approximately £600 and I am hoping that this one will take us over the £1,000 mark.

Participants are organised into 4 groups. Each group is allocated one watch. The first person in the group has the watch for 2 weeks and then passes it on to the next member in the group. When it gets to the end of a group, the watch is passed onto the next group and the process is repeated until everyone has had every watch for 2 weeks.

At the end, all watches are returned to me and we make a draw. The 4 names drawn each win one of the 4 watches. Watches are allocated in order of value, highest to lowest.

It gives me great pleasure to organise this event each year and makes money for a good cause at the same time. Time well spent me thinks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.