Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Wander

I'd intended to pop up to Ilkley just for a wander around the town, but the day proved so fine that I was lured along the Dales Way up the river and then up on to the moor.

The hike up the escarpment toward the Noon Stone was quite stiff, and I could hear the grouse chuckling at my progress. Having got so far, I thought I'd head up to the trig point at Long Ridge End. It was on the final approach that I was gifted this moment of magical light, looking more or less west into the Dales. I think this patch is Addingham High Moor rather than Ilkley Moor.

I then returned to Ilkley via a few of the Ilkley Moor boundary stones which had so far eluded my camera, the Swastika Stone and Heber's Ghyll.

This left an hour or so of daylight for some urban wandering, with the Sgwarnog spotting card rewarded by: a milestone, an unusual private pillar box, a new (to me) ghost sign, a nice pre-Worboys sign and an hexagonal General Post Office pillar which so far defies identification.

I'm sure these are all familiar to the large clan of Ilkley blippers, but are exotica to folk like me, who live five miles t' other side o't moor.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.