SNDavies

By SNDavies

She's back!

She's back!!!


She went missing on Sunday & someone rang me on Tuesday from the gumtree advert to say they felt guilty for running her over & killing her. But they wouldn't say when or tell me where her body was and then I heard someone laugh in the background as they hung up.

Wednesday was a really shit day after that news, so I went for a coffee with a friend which put me in a better frame of mind, then went and leafleted 118 houses! Thankfully someone rang from the next street. She said they'd seen a crying, wandering black cat who was trying to get into houses appearing around 12-1am for last two nights.

I was so hoping it was her. There was every chance it might not be after that phone call. I spent all afternoon wandering around, shaking her box of treats that always brings her running, calling her etc. Then at half 11 Craig had come home and we decided to go back out and try calling her again as it was closer to 12am.

We found her :) I shook the treats for a good minute in our back garden before we left, hoping it might draw her if she could hear it. Then I shook them as soon as I stepped out of the front door and thought I'd heard a bell. We couldn't see anything so I thought my mind was playing tricks again, as it had been all day on Monday & Tuesday.

We walked to the top of our street, still shaking the treats. We both heard the bell, then Craig turned and said 'there's a cat!'. A black cat started running at full pelt towards us, straight to us. We were pretty sure it was her but I wanted to check the collar just to be sure. It was definitely her and she was hungry! Couldn't believe our luck! I thought it would have taken so much longer, we didn't even have the cat box with us. Craig had to scoop her up and I fed her treats while walking hurriedly home. Thankfully we only live 6 or 7 doors down from the corner of the road, but Minerva doesn't like being picked up so it was a bit fraught!

I knew on Sunday that she had climbed over the storey high walls that enclose the gardens. The houses from two streets have gardens that back onto each other. The walls are sheer so I knew she couldn't get back in again and as we've only had her 6 weeks or so she didn't know where the front of the house was. So glad I leafleted, even though others were telling me to hold off and wait.

She's been very quiet and is sticking to us like shadows today. She's not eating very much, but we're keeping an eye on her and hopefully her appetite will improve. She's fed wet pouches but is preferring dry food at the moment, so I might get some more to bring some variety.

Minerva's definitely grounded till Christmas!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.