Maple

By maple23

High Tide

Today we seemed to have all the seasons in one day...it was wild around the country...trees down, trains suspended, trampolines flying through the air, wheelie bins sliding down the street, rain, snow, sunshine and cold.

It was also a very high tide and sea surges were expected. My mum lives within a SEPA flood warning area but the alert was unnecessary. At 4pm it was no more than a high tide at Cockenzie Harbour, the storm surge never looked like happening.

I played around the harbour when growing up and I've seen higher waves thundering over the pier wall than there were today. My friends and I used to run from one end of the pier to the other trying to avoid the waves and not get wet. Today was very tame in comparison. I could have walked to the end of the pier without getting drenched!

I hope folk down south have similar conditions and they don't suffer from flooding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.