Welcome to Absurdistan!

By MildlyOffensive

U-Bahn München: 20/100 Garching

Munich underground: 20/100 Garching

Yesterday evening - although my bike has been destroyed - I was in a quite good mood; after all, I realized it could have been much worse and I could have been seriously injured in that bike accident. So all's well that ends well not too bad? Not exactly, because when it rains, it pours, of course. So when I reached my car today morning to drive to work, I found a rather unpleasant present: some brain-dead asshole has left a long scratch (most likely caused by a key) on the right back door and fender. As I said, it never rains but it pours. It's simply not my week. I should hide under my linen until Sunday, but with my luck I would get bedsore.

Today's blip shows Garching underground station. Opened in 2006, it is one of the newest and in my eyes most beautiful stations in the network. It is one of only 3 stations outside of Munich's city limits, all of which are in the vicinity of the city of Garching bei München, which is home to several institutes, university departments and the leading German nuclear research reactor FRM II. It's also one of the very few stations with two separate tunnels and platforms for the two directions. Moreover, it is the sole station that does not feature the common typography regarding the station's name on the walls.

"I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it. The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear." - Nelson Mandela

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.