But, then again . . . . .

By TrikinDave

Ginger.

I was woken up at 8:30 this morning with the information that there was a storm blowing and no electricity, the local mobile relay station was also without power so mobile phones were out of action. Our lanndline phone wouldn’t work until I replaced it with an old clockwork one, our gas central heating and gas oven won’t work during a power cut either. As an engineer, it has always amazed me that so many modern gas appliances are designed to be useless under such circumstances; it would not be difficult to design in a fall back mode of operation. Fortunately, we have had the sense to fit simple gas fires as back-up heating and to keep a supply of candles, camping stoves, battery radios and, of course, the old phone.

While talking about the impending snow (it just about arrived but had forgotten to bring its will to live) I commented on the supposed fact that Eskimos have 50 different terms for snow. It is generally claimed that this is a myth; I take a different stance having once counted how many terms I knew for different types of horse. I eventually lost count, but could obviously reach the target.

The power eventually returned at 5:50 this evening.

Mrs TD was not happy about driving through weather to get to The Drum Riding for the Disabled today, so I took her there. Because of the gale, riding lessons had been cancelled so we busied ourselves wrapping little presents for the kids. I was nearly talked into being Father Christmas to deliver them but managed to escape, however, I do think we can find a volunteer.

Ginger is the oldest pony at The Drum, well into his thirties and now retired. He is allowed, pretty much, a free run of the place although he does prefer to be near his very good friend Fudge; they indulge in regular mutual grooming sessions. He’s a palomino, which I thought was a breed but it turns out is a colour; Mrs TD put me right on that, she’s been helping at The Drum for twenty six years now and has a certificate to prove it. On all things horsey, I bow to her superior knowledge.

I've just posted yesterday's blip, "Lion Couchant."

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.