Chris M

By chrism

jeely good

Season of mists and making all sorts of goodies to see us through the winter. this is the making of crab apple jelly. That's it in the background. A bit of muslin slung between the legs of a chair and a bowl under to catch all the juice that makes the jeely.
All the little crab apples came out of the hedgerows and I am sure we will be going for more soon. Can't wait to try it.
Our glut of runner beans has turned into frozen beans, runner bean chutney ( that will be interesting - needs a couple of months to mature) and lots for the neighbours.
Jane's hedgerow jam is made from whatever she finds in the hedges. Last year was delicious and mainly elderberries + blackberries we also found goosegogs, cherries, apples and crab apples.
I hope that we don't find old prams, dead ferrets and plastic bags. I don't think I would like that jam one bit.
Beautiful day.
I have to go to IKEA - AaaaRRRrrrrrGGGHHhhhhH!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.