KariDi

By KariDi

Asimbonanga

As a schoolchild, I obsessively followed Nelson Mandela's imprisonment and the campaign to free him. I can trace my passion for equality to the horrific injustices endured and overcome by this great man. I also fondly remember my cousin heading home to South Africa after a visit to Scotland with obligatory piles of Scottish supplies, football strips and an illicit tape of 'Free Nelson Mandela'....

The album pictured is one of my favourites, particularly 'Asimbonanga (Mandela)' and there's a fab video of a performance with a smiling, dancing Madiba joining in.


(And, though unlikely, if a certain ex-boyfriend spots this, it'll finally end the 'who took the Johnny Clegg CD?' saga.....yup, me. Though I believe I denied all culpability at the time & blamed his sister.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.