It works

I thought I'd plant a butterfly bush (Buddleja davidii) during the winter in the hopes that it would attract butterflies. I am here to tell you it works. I wavered between delight and frustration as a couple of browns (Heteronympha merope) danced around, courting in between feeds. Hopefully the Monarchs will come a bit later on.

The skip arrived today and it's practically full already. But if I jump up and down in the middle of it, it will settle the garden rubbish, and we can get more in. I knew there was a reason I didn't want to loose too much weight.

That's about it really - oh, I did make a Christmas cake, but the Rower wanted to check the quality control and its nearly all gone. Now I have to make another one, and it's been gently suggested I make it much bigger next time. I feel that I've failed Mary Berry - she says it has to be made at least 3 weeks before Christmas, and that the fruit has to soak for at least three days before you make the cake. Sorry Mary, but it's not going to happen in this household. (The Brits will know what I'm talking about - if they are bakers anyway).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.