Pop Art Phantom

I write for a comics character called the Phantom a/k/a/ the Ghost Who Walks. Created by Lee Falk, costumed hero the Phantom has been fighting tyranny, injustice and piracy in newspaper adventure strips and comics for longer than Superman. For decades he had the best-selling comic in Australia, and remains huge there and across Scandinavia.

Phantom comics were a staple of doctors' waiting rooms in New Zealand when I was growing up, so writing for the character is always a treat. My 44th issue of the Phantom will be published in 2014.

Meanwhile a contemporary pop artist in NZ is making a fortune selling prints of Pop Art style repaintings of the Phantom. This is a shop window for a gallery that flogs them. I'd buy one myself, but I can't afford it. Oh, the irony...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.