Barbara

By Tealuke

RIP

My grandma died last night. On Wednesday, a day before they found her body she rang my father and told him that she felt old. He said that she was herself right until the end. My dad sounded businesslike on the phone but his voice started to crack when he mentioned her. I went for a long cycle in the cold and tried to cry. I think I bury things too much.

She didn’t turn up to bridge on Thursday, and they couldn’t get into the house though the lights were on. The police found her body in the bedroom. It breaks my heart to think that someone who was once young and full of life and sex could die so alone and so quietly in a room filled with unfashionable cushioning. I wish that someone had been there.

Her name was Eva, and I loved her.

Bye Barbara

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.