Our Lady of the Woods and Waters

The Madonna of Spring Creek . . .

I stopped by Spring Creek on this morning, hoping to catch a glimpse of wildlife. Perhaps that heron that's been eluding me. Or maybe even the dark-haired fisher I saw only once, on a single-digit morning last winter along these banks.

And as I walked along the creek with my camera, I nearly stumbled over a pair of small statues of the Virgin and Child. They were lying near the base of a tree. One, rather plain. The other (this one), intricately carved and painted, made of Italian marble.

I have visited this spot many times, but the statues are new.

I wondered about the statues; about who left them there, and why.

An act of faith? An act of despair? A mystery . . .

I handled the statues gently and photographed them in situ. Pondered some more.

Then I took this statue and placed it on a rock along the edge of the creek where it might, perhaps, confer a blessing upon the creatures of the waters below and the creatures of the skies above. And on either side of the creek, the creatures of the ground. I liked the thought of it. Our Lady of the Woods and Waters . . . and the blessing of all the wild creatures.

And me, of course. One who is merely wild at heart. I smiled to think it.

Then I took the statues and carefully placed them back by the tree just as I found them; said a quiet prayer for the one who left them there; walked away.

And I treasured all these beautiful things, all these mysteries, and I pondered them in my heart . . .

The song: Bing Crosby and David Bowie, Peace on Earth/Little Drummer Boy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.