Life Inspired

By inspiredesigns

Gift

This is a birth story, so don't continue on if you are squeamish...

39 weeks pregnant yesterday, which marks the longest pregnancy I've ever had. The doctor did a check today to see how dilated I am, and I'm measuring between 4-5 centimeters. He performed a quick membrane sweep and sent me on my way. I spent the entire day busy shopping and running the kids around. I had fairly regular, but mild, contractions throughout the day. Everyone kept wondering if today was the day, but the contractions just weren't getting stronger.

We picked pizza for dinner, and I stuffed my face. Since you have dropped a bit in my tummy, it's been finally easier to eat. Throughout the pregnancy, I've only gained 16lbs total because of being so sick for so long and then not having any room.

We were hanging out on the couch watching TV and at about 7 pm, and I noticed a couple of intense contractions. I got up to walk around and see if they stayed intense, and they did. I rang the hospital to speak with a nurse and see if I should come in. She said that because I'm already dilated and this being my 3rd baby, I should head in. We called your Nani and My Mind's Eye to let them know we were on our way.

When we got to the hospital at about 7:30 pm, your brother's stayed back in the family waiting room and played with "L" and her dad. My Mind's Eye had my camera and was taking photos to document your arrival. At around 8:30 p.m., the nurse gave me a large ball to rest on to help with the contractions. I only sat on it for a moment, and then water gushed all over. It was such a strange feeling. My water never broke with your brothers, so I had no idea what it would feel like. My Mind's Eye went and got the nurse. At this point, we certainly knew you'd be coming soon.

After my water broke, the contractions started getting much more intense and close together. I moved to the bed because standing was just too difficult. A new nurse came in, and she told me to labor on my knees over the back of the bed. I wasn't sure, but I trusted her. The pain was incredible, but I knew that with each contraction, we were one step closer to seeing you. Nani arrived at about 9 pm.

Because things progressed so quickly, there was no time for any medication at all. I had medication with each of your brother's births, so this was new for me. At about 9:30 or so, I felt the urge to use the bathroom, so the doctor checked me and said I was ready to push. It felt too quick and too easy. I had barely been in labor 2 hours, and it was time for you to come. I started to panic and forgot how to push. With literally no effort, I pushed. Your little head started to come out, and it felt as if you were stuck. I began to panic again and started saying that I couldn't get you out. But I wasn't pushing properly. I looked to the nurse and doctor, and their faces were full of confidence. They were absolutely sure I was doing fine, and that was enough for me to push through.

After a bit of shouting (maybe yelling), I managed to push you out (sunnyside up) at 9:39 pm. The doctor told your Papa to take you out, and he reached down and delivered you to my tummy. Your umbilical cord was very, very short, so it took a while before I could kiss your sweet head. You cried before you were even out and received 9 out of 9 from the nurse.

We found out that during pregnancy, I had a velamentous placenta. The doctor was amazed that everything turned out so well. This particular placenta irregularity can be horrible, and if they had known while I was pregnant, they would have never let me go into labor and would have performed a c-section. But you were our little miracle, and you came out absolutely perfect. 6lbs 9oz, 19 inches long

Thank you My Mind's Eye for documenting our beautiful, little girl's journey into this world. I only hope I can repay the favor some day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.