After the storm ....

.. it was always going to be calm. It's what happens.

When I was at school, I witnessed my first political demonstration. The South African Rugby Union team played a match at Linksfield Stadium, Aberdeen. Midway through the second half, load of folks invaded the field and formed themselves into a large pile. These anti-apartheid demonstrators succeeded in getting the match abandoned. they succeeded also in raising consciousness about apartheid.

I did not join them. Partly because my arm was in plaster and partly because our head teacher had warned us of dire consequences if we were found to have taken part.

I have been reminded of that incident on a number of occasions. I recalled it especially when I saw the queues of people waiting to vote in South Africa when they enacted that fundamental principle of 'one person, one vote'. It came to mind again last night when the death of Nelson Mandela was announced.

The crows on the copper beech joined me in welcoming the sun this morning.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.