chrisugden

By chrisugden

Mixing Pop and Politics

All the news today, I was reminded of this. I remember it so clearly...
1984, as a 13 year old it was the first time I was aware of Nelson Mandela. I think it was with Kellog's breakfast cereals, save up 5 tokens and choose 1 of 5 different singles. I chose this.
(Free) Nelson Mandela by The Special AKA
Listening to the wonderfully upbeat and positive song, reading about Mandela and the Anti-Apartheid Movement on the back on the slip case.

I absolutely adored the song and listening to it now it's giving me goose bumps. I'll play it to the kids tomorrow and they'll leap and dance on the setee to it, just like I did...then I'll try to explain who he was.

"Mixing Pop and Politics he asks me what the use is...." Billy BraggWaiting for the great leap Forward

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.