Seriously?

By MerrilHope

Not fade away

“There is no passion to be found playing small - in settling for a life that is less than the one you are capable of living.”

― Nelson Mandela 1918-2013

Afrika

Such brightly coloured oil pastels in the Art Studio until I decided to drain their colour to a more subdued statement on this sad day. I doubt however, that his legacy will ever fade away and I think once again about the choices that we make in how we live our lives. I am the captain of my soul.

Invictus

Out of the night that covers me,
Black as the Pit from pole to pole,
I thank whatever gods may be
For my unconquerable soul.

In the fell clutch of circumstance
I have not winced nor cried aloud.
Under the bludgeonings of chance
My head is bloody, but unbowed.

Beyond this place of wrath and tears
Looms but the Horror of the shade,
And yet the menace of the years
Finds, and shall find, me unafraid.

It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll.
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

- William Ernest Henley 1849-1903

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.