Now we have everything

By Gembop

Red faced

Well today was embarassing. Last week I got a letter from the hospital with a phone number and the instruction to call it to book my wisdom tooth extraction. So I did and I did.

It was very short notice but Robin got the day off work and the NCT girls offered to look after Charlie during the procedure. I was also so panicky that id be in too much pain to look after Charlie properly afterwards that Id lined up a week's stay at my parents'

Robin took Charlie for his swimming lesson this morning whilst I packed and then we fed him and dropped him off at Kelly's. Then it was over to the hospital for the dreaded procedure. I was actually bricking it and getting myself all worked up about it. So that's why I might have been a little slow on the uptake when we got into the room and saw the dentist chair but no equipment anywhere.

The dentist started asking a few questions before taking a look at the offending teeth then said I'd be out on a waiting list but should get my appointment in a couple of weeks. ?!!! I was dumbfounded. Robin said 'no she's not having it now then' and I swear the woman almost laughed at him.


I went from embarrassed to incredibly annoyed. The appointment was for a consultation which was a complete waste of time. They'd already seen my X-ray, my dentist had already assessed that it needed to be done so why on earth I had to go all the way to a hospital again is beyond me. Plus no one had mentioned there would be a meeting beforehand. If just one person or document had said consultation I would never have inconvenienced so many people. I was pretty bashful when I made the call to stand my parents down.

In the end though we decided as we were packed and we were going to be down for Ollie's birthday at the weekend anyway, we might as well carry on with the plan and Charlie and I would go back to Nottingham.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.