Emma D's diary

By EmmaDrabble

At Foy: with darkness comes light....x

“ As we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same.” Nelson Mandela

A dark day storm cloud brought about the news of the death of Nelson Mandela. Nelson Mandela, for me was testament of a man that could live through the darkness of incarceration and always focus on the light of hope and change. He said, “As I walked out the door toward the gate that would lead to my freedom, I knew if I didn't leave my bitterness and hatred behind, I'd still be in prison.”

He never focused on the darkness of anger, negativity and frustration. He set his dream of peace, unity and equality. Struggled through the storm of adversity, violence, and objection and stayed strong, steadfast to his beliefs in a brighter future for the whole of mankind, not just his homeland. Also, and just as importantly, he is a living example of living at peace with yourself, forgetting all ills.... Its a hard one to accomplish, but then we have a bright light to follow......x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.