'til next time

Last blip shot from Cuba as we landed back in DC at midnight (just in time for a predicted snow storm…)

One topic which I've not spoken about yet is race. The society seems to be well integrated, with a full complement of shades and ethnicities. Both Spanish and slave ancestries are well represented and there's a remarkable variety of 'blends' that is unlike anything I've seen elsewhere. The result is quite beautiful and sometimes striking people. This is not to say there aren't tensions but after 50+ years of Castrist regime, social strata have pretty much been leveled.

It'll be interesting to see what happens when and if Cuba opens up further to the world and economic opportunities start creating inequities… Everyone seems to agree that Cuba has a long way to go to be ready for the consequences of a lifting of the embargo. I think it'll be a tremendous shock to the very fabric of the current society. To be continued...

Ok, I'm dead on my feet. I'll sort through my pix over the weekend and will post a link for those interested in seeing more :)



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.