A tasty morsel

Rather a mixture of activities today. Slow to wake, meant no morning run and no Saturday sunrise. Dashed off a quick couple of letters I thought needed to be sent today, rather than Thursday (which is when I will next get any time for letters). Then went to get our food contribution for the family get together later in the day.

While out I walked past a junk shop. Some of the stuff there looks many times more than second hand. Certainly not old enough or posh enough for the label of antiques. However, on a table out the front of the shop was a box which caught my attention. An inset of thin strips of bamboo on the lid top, with brass ornamentation around the outside of the inset.

One of the hinges needs some work on it, which shouldn't be beyond even my skills (or lack of them). Although it has no trays or divisions inside, this is something that I know Mr H will absolutely treasure. So I liberated it from the shop and took it home with me. A little task for me over the next couple of weeks.

We then went to the home of one of my nephews, joining with many members of the family (not everyone could come), for lunch, talk and a most novel way of running a lucky dip.

Then S and I came north to the beach. Her mother is fighting a chest infection, and we wanted to see her. I took a walk along the beach and saw a couple of herons and one kotare (kingfisher). After considerable thought I chose this one, due to it being the one time my reactions were almost as quick as the heron's.

In large you can see the snail it has caught

EXTRA: I have just posted the kotare on blipfolio for bird lovers

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.