Abstract

Poppies photographed through a glass bowl, one I haven't used before. More like this.

A good day in the garden. I cleared the border where I grow purple runner beans. Since last summer it had become overgrown with apple mint and grasses. One cocksfoot towered above my head. This is where the colony of little praying mantis nymphs hang out. I spent half an hour searching for them to move them to safety. Although now in their second instar and a bit bigger, they no longer have the brown stripe that made them easy to spot. I transferred seven to the apple tree, but one repeatedly escaped me. They jump like grasshoppers, and can run amazingly fast. I decided that one would take care of itself even when its mint stem was pulled out.

Later in the day I planted out seedlings that I raised from seed- purple beans and two types of lettuces, and some bought pak choi.

I made up a batch of cheese that I started last night. The first lot this season. It turned out silky smooth, with a mild flavour. Heavenly with the fresh apricots that are available now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.