A Christmas Carol

Tonight MrsCyclops and I went to see “A Christmas Carol” at the Lyceum. I loved it. It was outstanding. The range portrayed by the actor playing Scrooge was brilliant, and the music was so expressive and beautifully done – from haunting to joyous, mashing up well-known Christmas songs to create something more than the sum of its parts.

There was a wonderful purity to the storytelling and the simple innocent way the whole thing was put together – simple without being childlike. It was such a classy, timeless production – the antithesis of pantomime.

I must confess I was moved to tears at the end – there was something about the unalloyed joyousness of it that got to me after a rather hectic and emotional couple of months… Damn, I need to man up…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.