One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Deadline

I got distracted from my book this morning on the train.
This young guy across the aisle was totally absorbed in his work. He was drawing in his sketch book and I was impressed by the precision of his lines, while the DART was coasting along.
Not the most stable environment for drawing and yet he did a really good job of it.
The previous two pages were a lot more richly illustrated and full of strong characters, showing a good personal style.
I did not want to disturb him and only grabbed the courage to take this shot as my stop was approaching.
We exchanged a few words. He was working on a project that was due 15 minutes later...
I guess that timeliness may not be his greatest quality.
Yet he was very calm and had the confidence that only an impending deadline can give you. He was doing a very good job.
Reminded me of my students days, when nothing much was done unless the deadline was dangerously close. That's when I was at my most productive.

Come to think about it, things haven't changed that much. I'm not the most productive without deadlines.

That must be why I enjoy the blipfoto daily deadline.

11.26am. Blip posted. A full day of dossing ahead of me now. Bliss

For anyone with an interest in graphic novels, I cannot recommend these guys highly enough: magic produced by an architect and a great writer.


Edit: these legs on public transport are posted with the approval of the legs' owner

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.