Canada Geese

Today was another very clear, very cold day. This morning, after I fed the birds and gave Duma his pills, I decided to suit up and take a long walk. I didn't even have breakfast or a cup of coffee. I figured there would be some interesting icicles near the falls so off I went. The light was so beautiful I decided to take a slight detour to Bloedel Donovan Park. And it was there that I got some of my best photos of the day.

This was taken across the street from the park, looking down the headwaters of Whatcom Creek as it comes out from Lake Whatcom and heads through the park towards the falls. There were many Canada Geese there. Some were taking off in "V" shapes but most were swimming toward the lake, crossing the road under the bridge, and swimming into the lake. These were heading toward the bridge. The morning light was golden and it reflected all of the dry golden plants and trees in the water under the geese.

I added just a touch of vibrance, but this is really close to how it actually looked. Made my day. After I took this, I did my usual three mile walk down the trail, over the bridge at the falls, and back again. Got a few cool ice photos that I plan to post later are here on Chaikins of Bellingham. But for now, this one (large version) was my favorite of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.