Elementary Canal

Went out for a ride along the canal today. Called in on mum for a cup of tea and then cycled back. Cold and bright and a good way to get a couple of hours' exercise.

And I took notes:

Fishermen are grumpy buggers, aren't they? They have really long fishing rods because they can't be bothered to cast and they would rather just dangle the hook bits into the water. And, if their stupid long rods are blocking the towpath, they make a really big fuss about moving them.

I nearly ran over a squirrel which ran out in front of me.

And a stupid red-headed bird which did the same thing.

I did not nearly run over an old lady. But she shouted at me anyway. I went back and spoke to her and explained that I had given her a wide berth and she agreed but then said that it was "ruddy dangerous". I explained again that I had seen her and had been in no danger of colliding with her. She agreed. And then repeated that it was ruddy dangerous. I rode away...

I don't tend to use the bell because that tends to make pedestrians jump - sometimes making it harder to avoid them. But my front brake makes a nice squeal which works well as a warning...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.