Cailleach

By Cailleach

A Season of Good William.....

Our staff Christmas 'do' is a very small affair.

There are only seven of us. - five full-time staff and two 17 year old Saturday kids.

The company pays for half of our lunch out, and we make up the difference ourselves. But I still remember what it was like when I was a student - I was permanently skint. Therefore, I always book somewhere that isn't very expensive so that the Saturday kids can come if they want to.

Will, our driver, is fairly new to the company. He's a lovely man - always smiling, giving us a bit of chat, and making the customers laugh. The Saturday kids hadn't met him before, and I was so pleased to see him being as delightful to them, as he is with the rest of us. There was a lot of laughter at their end of the table.

At the end of our meal, when the bill came, and someone had worked out what we all owed, Will very quietly slipped me some extra money. Without any drama or show, he simply said he'd like to treat the young ones....

Sometimes, you don't really have to look too far to find a wee star......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.