Mourning ring

It is interesting to read old wills and I am fortunate to have copies of the wills of some of my ancestors. A couple of them give a long list of recipients who were left money to buy mourning rings. These rings were frequently worn in memory of a loved one and it was customary to engrave rings with the name and dates of the deceased with black enamel on the front of the ring and sometimes a lock of hair. Unfortunately I don’t have any of these rings and the family fortunes disappeared long ago.

Many years ago I bought this ring with 21st birthday money as I liked it, but it has some significance because my second daughter was born on 8th December and my beloved grandmother was born on the 18th November.

I have tried without success to find out about Ann Sharpus and often think it would be good if I could return the ring to her family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.