Moon, Venus and swan

After an early visit to Sainsbury's I spent most of the daylight hours outside and away from the computer - and it was wonderful! In the morning Pete and I took Rosie up to Fineshade Woods for a long walk, punctuated by some sloe and rose-hip gathering. And I spent the afternoon in the garden, doing some weeding and planting some bulbs we'd bought at half-price. Alex came out and helped to rake the many leaves blown down by the recent high winds from the lawn.

After a sunny start, most of the day had been grey and overcast, but just as I was about to make a cup of tea I noticed some colour developing in the west, so nipped down to the Rowing Lake. It was indeed a beautiful sunset, but in the end I felt I had to blip this image showing th waxing moon high in the sky, and Venus (you may well have to look in large) closer to the horizon where the warm sunset colours were lingering. It's the first time I've been able to go out and enjoy the sunset for quite a while - I felt so peaceful and refreshed by being alone among the swans and Canada geese, who were oblivious of the beauty all around.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.