not something you particularly need to know

This week has been remarkably pleasant so far considering I was out of the office for all of the previous week; there doesn't seem to have been any build-up of tasks, no-one has changed anything they wanted and there appeared to only be one follow-up request from someone wanting another week's worth of the stuff delivered two weeks ago. Although plans are in place to reduce my flex-mountain down to acceptable levels I shall attempt to end up not more than an hour over a contractual week by the end of Friday just to prove that it can be done. If necessary I will sign out on Friday just before the point at which the threshold would be crossed then finish off reading my current collection of work photo club magazines at my desk before distributing them onwards through the internal mail and running away. As I was about to leave this evening a colleague from the club wandered up with three more magazines in his hand but I accepted only one in case any more arrived in the post before the end of the week and the earliest realistic chance of having some time to read them.

As Nicky had some form of meeting-work-thing this evening I was going to take the opportunity to drag out the big box of opto-chemical photographic prints from beneath the bed (necessarily exposing and allowing quantification of the large amount of useless crap also currently unsorted and stored in various boxes in various places which is why it is best done when no-one else is about) and scrabble about in a few bags and boxes for the power lead for the scanner in order to get a few sample pictures ready for displaying to the various people also involved in the events depicted to see if they have any idea exactly when they took place. There's bound to be someone who kept a diary or had a camera which date-stamped their pictures of the same event or who was allowed to keep train tickets or something. In the end when I got home I was prevented from doing anything much by what I hope was just something I ate twenty-to-twenty-four hours ago and not something microscopic which is going to spend the next twenty-to-twenty-four hours depleting my fluid and electrolyte levels. At the moment everything seems reasonably stable and the soup I had for tea is staying where I put it. Better now than at the weekend when two days' worth of Doors Open day will require the ability to move around quickly and possible queue for long periods though hopefully not as long as it took to get into the Deaf School a couple of years ago.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.