a town called E.

By Eej

Dance Out Domestic Violence

First we had breakfast in bed, then we had to go to Kalamazoo again because we ran out of Christmas lights with half a house still to go. Oops.

Then I packed up more beer cupcakes and a very strong supply of banket and we headed to Lawton for a Zumbathon.

Early October Mary was brutally attacked by her estranged boyfriend in her own house, that he had broken into. Luckily she was able to escape briefly, run outside and alert a passer-by who called the police. The attacker dragged her back inside - then the police arrived minutes later, saving her life.

Today we showed her our support by dancing with her and raising money. And it was wonderful - like goosebumps wonderful. Plus, what with the bake sale going on I went straight from a Zumba high into a sugar high ;)

My Beloved was there, which meant a lot to me. Thank you, you wonderful man, for being you.





(I'm only mentioning the following because I need to have it on record, to remind myself it happened, that there were people helping me, and that I survived, but I don't want it to mark the day negatively: after the Zumbathon balloons were popped in the hall and I went into a major panic attack. I was high up on the bleachers and couldn't really quickly escape anywhere and I just completely lost it. Fortunately someone saw me panic and immediately ran back to make the popping stop (THANK YOU!) and A. came up and comforted me, and it was a good thing I was hopped up on endorphins because it could have been so, so much worse. I was still shaking on the way home but much, much calmer.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.