Yellow

1969. That was the year of the last riots in Singapore. At least till last night.

400 people rioted in Little India last night. It was apparently triggered when a bus ran over and killed a pedestrian. For some reason, things were thrown at the emergency personnel as they tried to extricate the victim from under the bus. Things escalated, a mob formed and overturned several police cars and an ambulance. The cars were torched. Projectiles were thrown. Riot police and the gurkha contingent were called out, and order restored two hours later.

I find it difficult to wrap my head around the idea of riots in Singapore. The previous riots took place before I was born. I want to believe last night was a one-off occurrence and the next riots, if any, will only take place long after I've shuffled off the mortal coil.

My condolences to the family of the man who died. He was here simply trying to earn a living to support his family back home in India.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.