Whitecliff

By DaveWhitecliff

A quiet word

Ever since the hammer-attack incident with Horsehead, things had been pretty quiet around here. Then I guess someone ratted on me to the Pigheads, letting them know I'd got a new mandolin. I did wonder how wise it was of me to advertise the fact on Blip.

So, Monday night there's a knock at the door, and before I opened it I was sure I heard a slight half-grunt-half-squeal kind of noise, and I knew it probably wasn't a social visit.

As it happened, it was pretty business-like "just a quiet word" was how she started the conversation. In a voice that rarely rose above a whisper, she explained what I could and could not do with the mandolin, and exactly what would happen if they found out I'd let any animal-headed buskers borrow it. Gruesome.

And then she threw her shawl around her shoulders and trotted out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.