A Sad Day.

My morning was ok, except for working with a new girl, who kept telling me how they did things at her previous job, and how they did it so much better than us, not sure how long she will last!

And then the saddest thing. I was walking through Security, when I saw a young woman, with tears streaming down her face come rushing towards me.

I asked if I could help her, and she said she had just come from walking her dog on the beach, when he stopped breathing.

Whilst security rang for the vet, I went to the car to help her get the dog out. She was trying to rouse him, but he wasn't moving, we managed to get him out of the car, and he was a big heavy dog, a very large boxer.

We laid him on the floor, and we kept rubbing him to try and rouse him, and I was trying to comfort her, as she was so distressed, but I knew he was dead.

Several people came to help, and when the vet arrived he could only confirm the dog had died.

The young woman did say that the dog had been a bit lethargic for a couple of days, but as he was only 2 years old, she put it down to the warm weather.

The young woman was known to our vet, as she is part of the Fisheries department, and has worked with our company on several occasions. He kindly offered to do an autopsy on the dog to find out what happened. But the most likely explanation is that he had an undetected heart condition.

RIP Dozer, you were obviously a much-loved dog.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.