'On My Evening Walk'

As the sun was setting.

Went for a walk out around the back paddocks this evening, and took a totally different track than I've even taken before. It was really nice, like being on a mini holiday with new scenery everywhere I looked but still only a couple of hundred metres from home. I discovered an old concrete dam wall which was probably about 30m long, looked like the dam has been dry for a few decades, but there was evidence that once upon a time it was full of water as I found an old knotted rope tide up to a tree branch which would have been a swing for jumping off at some stage.

A bit further along the track I came across a quite large mob of about 20 or so kangaroos in somebody's back yard (albeit quite a big unfenced back yard) and then finally I walked into the middle of a training session that our local CFA members were running. They were testing and practising what to do if they get caught in the middle of a fire while in their trucks. Firstly they have fire & heat retardant screen that roll down on the inside of the cabin over all of the windows and then they have douse sprays that cover the truck with water to help prevent it catching alight. They were telling me that the truck I was watching carried 3000 litres of water which would only last about 4 and a half minutes while dousing the truck and timing is everything, you don't want to turn the sprays on a second earlier than you have too.

They asked if I'd like to hang around a watch one of their drills, which I did and they were happy for me to snap away a few shots as I pleased, but it was almost dark and the shots weren't that great, so here you have a shot I took just before reaching the old dam wall.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.