Life in Newburgh on Ythan

By Talpa

Smells and bells

And when they were come into the house, they saw the yong child with Mary his mother, and fell downe, and worshipped him: and when they had opened their treasures, they presented vnto him gifts, gold, and frankincense, and myrrhe.
Matthew 2:11. King James Bible of 1611.

Years ago I bought some frankincense and myrrh in the old souk in Muscat, Oman. Each Christmas we put them on display, together with a bit of gold.

I had never tried lighting the incense but this year I thought I would! I put a few pieces in a burner, also from Oman and applied a flame. I was rather hoping for clouds of fragrant white smoke but it very quickly turned into a fragrant raging fire. The house now smells like St Peter's after high mass!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.