PorridgeWog

By PorridgeWog

Gate valve

DDW's December Challenge Day 11 : A wheel

Gate valves are the bane of my existance. Generally, they have been fitted in an inaccessible place by a muppet and then turned on so much that they seize solid in the open position. If I manage to get them to move, they usually won't shut the water off properly. Then when switching the water on, the shaft inside them often breaks, meaning a long drain down of the pipework and a replacement valve. Some people call them wheel valves. I prefer a nice easy to use lever valve....

In other news, HV finally got the go ahead to come to live in Orkney as of Friday, so I fly down and meet her and then we drive home together. It is not permanent yet, but it is a really important step forward. I am a bit excited....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.